CIM Award nominations - what you need to know

Who can nominate a candidate?  

To nominate a candidate, you must be a current CIM National Member.

Nominees need not be CIM National Members, with the exception of the CIM Fellowship Award.


How do I nominate a candidate?

Each award has its own conditions. Please ensure that the nominee meets the criteria. 

  1. See the Awards section to find out more about each award and what it takes to submit a complete nomination.
  2. Click on the Nominate a candidate button on the Award page.
  3. Follow the prompts to complete your nomination. 


To submit a nomination for the Towards Sustainable Mining (TSM) Awards, please click here.

The John T. Ryan Safety Trophies nomination process is a separate one. For nominations, please contact your local chief mines inspector, or the John T. Ryan secretary Tom Demorest.

To submit a nomination for the Hatch-CIM Mining & Minerals Project Development Safety Award, please click here.

Supporting documents

Each nomination must include:

  • A statement (no more than 250 words) clearly outlining how the nominee's achievements and qualifications support the specific criteria for the particular Award
  • A minimum of three (3) written and signed recommendations (75-100 words)
  • The candidate's curriculum vitae or biography

Nominations for the Distinguished Lecturers must include a lecture abstract. 

Specific judging criteria can be found on each of the nomination pages.


Additional Information

You may edit your entry after submitting, up until the entry deadline.

Please make sure all your personal details are entered accurately, including contact details.

You are eligible to enter more than one category if the work submitted meets the criteria.


If you have any questions on the entry process, please contact Laura Foley by email to or call 1-514-939-2710 ext. 1307.

Nominate a candidate  CIM Awards by Category Past Award Winners 

Award Winner Spotlight

CIM has a long and proud tradition of honouring the accomplishments of those who excel in the industry. The achievements and dedication of our award winners make Canada a force to be reckoned with in the mining world. Their legacy inspires tomorrow's leaders.

Past Award Winners

It doesn’t matter whether you are a research geologist who has worked a lifetime in a laboratory or a new graduate just getting started, always seek to do your best and contribute to society. Success tends to follow you when you are doing what you love and you are doing it to the best of your abilities.

Gary Sutton, 2020 Winner of the Barlow Medal